cartoon guy teachingHi, it’s me again! Now, we’re going to do a little reading activity. The text below is all about Madison. Read it once. Does she do anything similar to you?

All about Madison Smith!

What’s your name? How old are you and where are you from?
My name is Madison Smith. I’m 28 years old. I was born in Cornwall, but I grew up in Hull in the north of England.

Where do you work?
I work in a bank in the city centre. It’s an international bank, but I work in the small and medium-sized businesses department. I work on the third floor, but my boss is on the fifth floor.

What do you do there?
I talk to clients about getting a loan or borrowing money for their business projects. I also look over accounts, and then report to my boss.

Do you ever have to travel as part of your job?
No, I don’t travel much as part of my job. However, I go to business conferences about three times a year.

How do you get into work?
I usually take the bus, but if the weather is nice, I cycle. The bus journey takes about 10 minutes and the cycle ride is about half an hour.

What do you do at the weekends?
I usually meet up with my friends and go to a restaurant or a bar. I don’t stay out late though because I play tennis on Saturday mornings, and I often go horse riding on Sunday morning. I sometimes go to the cinema on Sunday evenings.

Reading 2
Read the text again. Then, answer these questions. Then, do the quiz to check your answers.
1. How old is Madison?
2. Where does she work?
3. Who does she report to?
4. How often does she go to business conferences?
5. How does she usually get to work?
6. What does she sometimes do on Sunday evenings?

Cartoon guy with thumbs up Now, do the quiz to to check your answers to exercise 2!




Quiz / Lesson 2 Reading 2